A New Trick (Volume 1, Issue 1)

Welcome to my first blog for Freelance Editorial Services. While I am reluctant to use the term “old dog,” I have, in fact, learned a new trick over the past month.

During that time I built this website from scratch. For the techno-savvy among you, unraveling the mysteries behind the dashboard — links, widgets, tags — may not seem like much of an e-achievement. But for those of us who can remember party-telephone lines, publishing your first website is nothing short of a personal miracle.

As a freelance copywriter and editor for the past decade, I had grown accustomed to doing business mostly through word-of-mouth and sending portfolio samples to prospects via email. In retrospect, that was so March 2012.

Today, I feel the way I did when I first learned how to throw a football with a tight spiral. I have crossed some invisible threshold. For better or worse, the term SEO is now an active part of my business lexicon. I want to express thanks to the folks at WordPress and those other multi-media dreamers who offer a seemingly unending stream of YouTube tutorials on how to build a website on the cheap.

In the months ahead, I’m sure I’ll be tweaking this site. But for now, I hope I’ve achieved a modicum of success by creating a simple platform that is easy to navigate. What’s most amazing is, it didn’t cost me a dime. (Some of you may say, it shows, but we’ll see.)

As a gesture of camaraderie to my fellow technophobes, if you are thinking about creating your own free website but feel clueless as to how to start, I would be happy to share how I began my month-long journey. Make no mistake, you will have to dedicate some time to learn the nuances of the back-office operation. But if I can do it, you can. Just drop me a line.

Until then, thanks for reading my first blog for Freelance Editorial Services.

Paul

2 Comments

Filed under SEO

2 responses to “A New Trick (Volume 1, Issue 1)

  1. Paul, I enjoyed your new site! Congratulations, and I’m sure business will boom. You’re very talented!

  2. Sandy Austin

    Nice work, Paul! I am duely impressed. All the best in this new e-chapter in your professional life.

Leave a Reply

